Who Will Win the 2021 Tewaaraton Award?


Chris K.

Former Princeton and current Duke attackman Michael Sowers signing autographs for fans after a game in 2020.

Ethan K.

In college lacrosse, the most prestigious award an athlete can earn is the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the nation’s best men’s and women’s lacrosse players. In comparison, it is like the Heisman Trophy for lacrosse.


My two choices for the Tewaaraton Award in 2021 are Charlotte North, an attacker from Boston College as well as Michael Sowers, an attackman from Duke. 


North should easily win the women’s award as she had dominated all season including a 10-goal performance against Virginia Tech on April 10. With that performance, North set the women’s ACC record for goals in a game. North’s dominance at Boston College has shown all season and she should continue to have a phenomenal season, winning the Tewaaraton.


Sowers is one of the best lacrosse players in the nation without doubt and was even selected second overall in the 2021 PLL Collegiate draft. A star at Princeton that broke almost every offensive record imaginable, Sowers transferred to Duke in 2021 after Princeton announced that they would not have a season due to COVID-19. Even with a change of scenery, Sowers has dominated and came in clutch for the Blue Devils many times including the game-tying goal against Notre Dame on April 22, as well as the game-winning assist. 


Although I think that Sowers will win the Tewaaraton, it won’t come easy. Maryland’s Jared Bernhardt has been huge in helping the Terrapins go 10-0 so far this season. In addition, UNC’s Chris Gray and Notre Dame’s Pat Kavanagh have both been astounding in helping their respective teams make it into the top 5 of the national rankings. 


Whoever wins the 2021 Tewaaraton will join a huge list of great players and be able to carry on that legacy forever.